• Home
  • 9
  • CBA Head of School makes House Calls before Seniors Walk a Virtual Stage

CBA honors the Class of 2020 through special visits from Head.
Monday, June 22, 2020

The CBA community celebrated their graduating class of 2020 with more than 200 people watching the live broadcast of their virtual commencement ceremony on Thursday, June 11, 2020.

The week prior to this year’s nine graduates walking the virtual stage, head of school Dr. Judy Jankowski made a personal “house call” to each student to congratulate and mark this momentous life event with a few gifts from the school.

Dr. Jankowski felt compelled to make these visits as a way of showing her own appreciation to the families who entrusted their children to the work of the school. As the only K-12 independent school in Southeastern Virginia dedicated to educating children with learning differences, CBA’s families live throughout Hampton Roads. This year’s senior class included students residing in Virginia Beach, Norfolk, Chesapeake, Suffolk, and Portsmouth. “As I spent the week driving around to each home, it gave me time to reflect on how broad the school’s reach really is. Being able to serve such a diverse population is truly an honor and I treasure the impact that CBA has on the community,” commented Dr. Jankowski.

The graduation ceremony featured a commencement address from Barbara Hamm Lee, executive producer and host of “Another View” on WHRO Public Media, along with congratulatory messages from Stanley Baldwin, board chair, and Dr. Judy Jankowski, head of school. In keeping with CBA tradition, each graduate was presented by a speaker of their choice. This year’s speakers included Michelle Bandy, mother of Christopher Bandy, Jessica Sharon, mother of Joey Garcia, Jennifer Gibson, librarian for the city of Norfolk, and CBA faculty members Jared Setnar, Erin Blair, Bob Schneeberger, Synnika Lofton, and Dr. Christine Herbert.

Congratulations to the CBA Class of 2020: Robert Christopher Bandy, Jr., John Abzal Carmel, Joseph Daniel Gacia IV, Karl Magnus Krohn, Matthew Mazur, Rickey E. McClellan, Braden Joseph Muller, William Corless Russell, Jr., and Anne Marie Murphy. Click here to view the virtual ceremony.